• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Project - Face Lift -

The crash bumper is really close to being completed. Earlier this past week I fabbed up the mounting blocks using .25" stainless bar stock and countersunk stainless bolts. I attached the stainless pieces to the inside of the aluminum bumper by bucking countersunk aluminum aircraft rivets. You can kind of see the counter sunk head in a few of the pictures.

The only fabrication that is left is to make two pieces to cap the ends. Once this is complete I'll take some photos of it mounted on the car.

I'm not very good at taking pictures of this thing. I tried different things like propping it up, flash, no flash, lights, and no lights, but the light reflects weird off of it any which way. These are the best ones I got.

DSC01585.jpg

DSC01586.jpg

DSC01581.jpg

DSC01579.jpg

I hand filed the welds on the top and bottom and spent several hours hitting the highs and lows with a hammer/dollie combo. My partner said I should polish it when I'm done, but you dont ever see it so I'm just going to sandblast it and paint it satin black.

DSC01589.jpg

DSC01588.jpg

ok, quick advice, take templates from that crash bumper for making another.

then after you mold the ST one on, pop a mold from it and make a bolt up kit for the rest of us.

I've wanted an ST bumper for a long time, and this looks like its going to actually work.

mad props man

Thanks to everyone who is following the progress and complementing/commenting in this thread. When you do custom work all day long on other peoples vehicles it sometimes becomes difficult to find the willpower to carry it over into the "after hours" and work on your own stuff. You guys have done a good job keeping my butt in gear, so thanks! :cool:

Finished the end caps up today. Just about ready to start hackin' some plastic so stay tuned.

DSC01591.jpg

DSC01590.jpg