• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

SVT Parts on a stock D2.5

DirtyBird

CEG'er
So, I'm new to modding my contour, I have a 97' SE almost completely stock. I've wanting to add the SVT TB, UIM, LIM, Injectors, Cam, PCM, and of course the Turbo.... My question is will my engine handle it? It has 150k on it. And I've heard that my pistons, connecting rods, and/or crank wont handle the HP, because the SVT engine has high performance internals and mine doesn't... and also, would everything swap right over, with direct fit?

there is no turbo on the SVT.

all the other parts though will swap right over without issues. also, the SVT doesnt really have any better internals than the standard 2.5L.

since you have a 97 the PCM will not work. you would need a custom tune for the injectors. so just stick with your stock injectors.

since you have a 97 the PCM will not work.
I have an SVT PCM in my ST24 .. which is the same as an SE i believe. Can you explain what problems you expect, since i have the 19lb injectors and my car passes emissions tests with no problems ... G.

I have an SVT PCM in my ST24 .. which is the same as an SE i believe. Can you explain what problems you expect, since i have the 19lb injectors and my car passes emissions tests with no problems ... G.

the 97 here in the states is different than the 98+ (AKA your ST24), therefore, the PCM pinouts are different between the pre-98 and 98+.

Thanks for that Dan. So everything besides the injectors would be fine on his pre 98 ?

If he wants a little overhead with the fuel ... the 255L fuel pump and or FMU will make an acceptable boost (or iron out flat spots) ... or at least that's what i found with a 65mm TB ... G.

OK thanks guys... I know that the SVT doesn't come with the turbo... just somethin I am considering....