• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Split Port 3.0L UIM on a 2.5L???

Nick A.

CEG'er
I have a Split Port 3.0L UIM that I have been trying to sell, but I'm wondering if it would make any more power or torque if I put it on my stock 2.5L SVT??? It's not extrude honed, so is it worth it to put it on without being EH'd?

30LUIMAL1.jpg

Thanks,
Nick

I would contact 95pgt-t and see for sure, it isn't hard to swap over. Just takes a little time. Probably about 2-3hrs for a beginner.

I also was looking for pics of one installed on his car and all the picture links I needed are dead from his for sale ad.

Yeah, I'm not worried about installing it (I'm not a beginner :cool:). I've even got an extra EGR pipe to make things easier.

I'm just wondering if there would be any power/torque benefit on a 2.5L SVT engine???

Joe, was yours extrude honed?

Thanks,
Nick

Nope, mine was just a stocker with powder coating. I would prefer to run this aluminum one over the plastic one, not sure why really - just a wierd feeling I have about them.

Cool, I'm just trying to see if anyone thinks that it will improve power over the stock EH'd SVT UIM??? I've seen plenty of threads where people hint at it but no one comes out and says it.

-Nick

I have a Split Port 3.0L UIM that I have been trying to sell, but I'm wondering if it would make any more power or torque if I put it on my stock 2.5L SVT???
hey Nick; is that the manifold that has split ports that join a few inches inside from the LIM/UIM joint ?
i'm wondering if it has more volume than an SVT UIM and if it would be a good alternative choice (to an ST220 UIM) for a blown 2.5L .... what do you think ? ...G.

Yup that's the one! I can't find the picture, but the runners are not split in 2 just the flange that attaches to the LIM is.