• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

intake test dyno

Joey I can't thank you enough for all of your research and hard work.

I'll be the first to admit I'm a newb to the duratec motor and all it's nuances. With that said the information you are providing is priceless to me and to everyone who's going to be doing a 3L swap.

Bottom line we are trying to get every once of whp out of these motors N/A with the 3L swaps. The Data you provide lets us determine how we would like to proceed and it's cost effectiveness.

Use or Sell the SVT UIM = $$
Use or sell the SVT cams = $$
Port or not to port = $$
Your data = Priceless

How do you explain the performance being seen by ported 3L such as demon? He is using the split port on the 3L heads, and I would say is having good results. Besides, it might not be only the performance that people are after. I wanted to retain the factory look, so I went with the ported 3L without using the proper heads, as you call them. if I sacrifice 10 hp but still have a stock looking engine I am fine with it.

I find it funny that he didn't even test a ported 3L and you are jumping all over it like it's so bad, there is more to the decision than dyno numbers.

I thought one of the dyno pulls was with the SVT UIM/LIM? Either way both setups put down good numbers.

Demon hasn't dyno'd his SVT which is a shame because I really want to know what he puts down with all that work he has done to the car. But I have heard he is one hell of a driver. FYI if you are wondering what a 3L with ported heads would do look at Starjammir's numbers he put down 220hp and 199tq at the wheels I believe. His hybrid is on my list of 3Ls to beat on the dyno ;) which I know I have my work cut out for me.