• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

My LX is getting a new heart - 3.0L swap

Chas

Veteran CEG'er
Ok, so let me get started. The center of my build is an 04' Sable engine with 6,100 miles on it. I've been accumulating parts for the last 8 months, and the engine will be going in during the second week of May with BAD SVT's help, and whoever wants to come down from PHX for free beer and food :crazy:

1998 E0 LX w/MTX

The basic build will be:
-engine-
04' block/lower
SVT UIM
NPG lower intake manifold adapter - delete IMRC and no porting for me to do
02-04 Escape fuel rail - for NPG adpater/SVT UIM clearance
NPG fuel rail mod
65mm optimized TB w/SVT throttle cable
Escape oil pan
Bracket-less oil pickup
DMD
EGR delete
Ford racing plug wires
Autolite double platinum plugs
NPG tune w/Xcal3
Pole RR's in 94a

-exhaust-
Coated MSDS headers
Sho-Shop y-pipe/cat
True Borla SS exhaust

-tranny-
Upgraded 1998.5 E1 MTX-75 w/Torsen & shift forks
OEM SVT clutch
Short shifter generic knock off of B&M - already installed

Stuff I know:
1. Flip key position on pulse wheel

2. Cut off tabs from block for alternator

3. Use 2.5L timing cover

4. Xcal tune needed for 24lb injectors, EGR delete, IMRC removal

Random questions:
1. I know I can't use the 3L dipstick and tube with the escape pan, but can I use my stock 2.5L ones?
-Use 2.5L w/ Escape pan

2. Does anyone have pics of their pilot bearing/transmission input bushing removal?
-We'll just cut it off

3. Are there any oil/water passages I need to block of with this setup?
-No

4. What 24lb fuel injectors should I use for correct spray pattern - wiring harness is a E0 and I'm ok with using adapter plugs, unless that option is unreliable/won't fit?
-NPG will be supplying 24lb oval-port spray pattern injectors w/ E0 connectors

5. Educate me on which knock sensor to use (2.5l or 3.0l) and how to modify/include it?