• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Best all around performance tire at a good price?

MRaetherSVT

New CEG'er
It's time to put some new tires on my '00 SVT. Looking for an economical tire (I'm a poor college student lol). Been looking on Tirerack and I've come down to a couple choices...

1. Firestone Firehawk Wide Oval Indy 500s:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires...hawk+Wide+Oval+Indy+500&partnum=145WR7FHWI5XL

2. Hankook Ventus V12 Evo K110s:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires...odel=Ventus+V12+evo+K110&partnum=145WR7K110XL

Leaning more towards the Indys... I drive quite spirited and the ware rate/wet performance is very important (I live in Seattle... need I say more?) let me know what you guys think! I want to consult with the SVT pros before going throwing money at new tires for my ride.

Thanks! You guys rock :laugh:

so you don't ever get any snow where you are? you picked summer only tires. are you going to run snow tires?

There's not really enough snow here to make buying a set of winter tires worth it. I work right next door to where I live, so if it snows terribly bad, I simply won't drive anywhere. I know they're summer tires, but supposedly the Indy's perform very well in wet weather as well.

wet weather is not snow. the summer tires will simply not grip when the temps drop below even 60 degrees. If you think that you will ever see snow you want an M/S rated tire.

I got the hankooks on my svt. They perform flawlessly. Wet traction is phenomenal. Another thing to take into consideration is amount of tire noise made. The hankooks have virtually none. I was surprised about how little i could actually hear them going down the road.

But like said before, they do not like the cold... Any snow and you will not be going anywhere