• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Turbo question

GeorgeSVT

CEG'er
Ok, so I have a 1998 ford contour SVT with a 3.0 duratec swap out of a 2003 for Taurus. I am planning on buying the Npg racing turbo kit sometime in my life, lol. And I was wondering if theres a safe way to run the turbo on the 3.0. Only thing done to the engine is an exhaust port and polish w/ k&n air intake and msds headers and y pipe and glaspack(which I don't know if should keep or get a real muffler. It came with the car). Is there anything that I need to safely run the kit on my engine or any suggestions or recommendations. I'm new to turbos. Do I need intercooled? Give me the run down.

Call NPG and talk to Joey...the man is FULL of knowledge of these cars and making the duratec rip like no other! Good dude to work with and talk to....willing to help anybody. I have alot of NPG stuff on my car....just not the turbo setup....YET. lol

Intercooler: Depends on how much boost you plan on running, anything more than 5psi I would recommend a intercooler.

Injectors: With the 3L I would recommend getting either some 39lb/hr (Cobra) or 42lb/hr (Lightning) injectors to ensure your getting enough fuel

Fuel Pump: Since you have a return style pump I would look at either the Walbro or Aeromotive Stealth pumps. Most people on here run the Walbro and haven't had any problems.

Transmission: Your going to need to get an aftermarket diff (Torsen or Quaife) at the bare minimum. Anything else is up to you. A FD swap is very beneficial in the turbo cars, 3.8 or 3.5 depending on the trans type.

Brakes: The stock brakes work just fine on a stock or even mildly modified car, but trust me (I'm still on stock brakes), your going to want to upgrade. My dad's got the FSVT NPG kit and it works very well.

Thats about it. The stock engine will be fine on anything up to 10 psi