• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

building the bottom end of your 3.0L

Stylin55_oh

CEG'er
I was wondering what everyone was doing when they were building their bottom end. Where are you guys finding these pistons? What kind of boost levels/hp are people running on these motors? Any help would be great. I'm trying to decide if i wanna spend the money.

Kinda interested in this also. Im new to the 3L. Wondering how much boost a 3L block can take safely?

Im pretty sure the stock 3L can "handle" 13-14 psi, but not for very long. I wouldn't do anymore than 10-11 on a stock one. 7psi is enough fun.

Actually I didn't replace them I had a forum member (Bnoon) build the 3L for me about 8 years ago. I believe he changed the rod bearings to clevite. I don't know if he changed the mains as I'm not sure if they were released yet.

If you search around you'll find all my threads with details of actually what is out there and available. It was the whole reason why I created them :shrug:

However because I feel bad for a guy that hasn't learned how to use the search feature ;)...

I want to get the best bang for my buck so I've been poking around to find what suppliers can offer. So far I have had limited success with emails. Only K1 Technlogies has replied. So I've begun calling everyone. However here is what I have received so far...

Rods
K1 Technologies - billet 4340 H-beam rods, $617.28 + ~$15 shipping
Scat - Does not show anything in there system, but after prying with the guy on the phone about AER buying rods for the Nobles from them he found a mystery rod for a V6 that they purchase. The guy that deals with them is out until next week. He had no idea what he could sell them to me for either.