• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

SVT Contour Clutch

Shaneomatic

New CEG'er
What is the best clutch/pressure plate kit recommended for a Contour SVT? I'm not racing this car so I don't need a stage 3 or whatever. I heard the oem svt clutch is the best but I also heard it's no longer made. I've seen the LUK clutch's but I hear they fail alot... I'm new to the whole svtc thing but not to Ford. I have a zx2 S/R that I've swapped to manual and i race that. I'm just not to sure about the SVT. I've had it a week and I got it all apart but I'm looking for a good long lasting clutch. I'm looking at the F1 stage 1 clutch.. Is this a good investment? Any feed back would be appreciated. thank you.

I blew my clutch last spring with my fully bolted on 3L. I put another luck OEM clutch right back in. I have had it in for a pretty rough 10k miles and never had a problem and never had it slip. From what I know its the most reliable one for the most part.

OEM SVT LuK clutch kit on my 2.5 Roush Cougar - and I do race it. It's been on for 50,000 miles now, no issues. I'd install another one if it came down to it.

Ok so what you guys are saying is the LUK clutch is a reproduced OEM SVT clutch? Alright, I might just go with that one. I'll punch on the car I know but I'm not ever taking it to the track or whatever, just driving it. That was my point...since the transmission is off might as well put a stage 1 in it but if the OEM is lasting that long for you guys who do beat on it alot it should work fine for me driving it daily. Thanks for the feed back guys.

Ok, that makes since. Thanks for clearing up all the B.S. info that gets passed around. I'm ordering the Luk clutch this week.