• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Hair shampoo

saintz

CEG'er
Here is a strange one for you, a while ago a mate in the Valeting trade recomended Asda (UK Supermarket) Hair shampoo at 37p a bottle for washing your car.

I have been using low cost hair shampoo on my cars for over 9 years now and I have to say the bugger was right.

I was told due to the hair shampoo taking the grease out of your hair without stripping it it helps clean but not take away the wax.

Also, with regards to squashed flies it takes them straight off also I never have a problem with streaked paintwork.

It works honest I never use anything else and never had a problem.

Just a small tip I thought I would pass on.:cool:

That's an interesting one. :cool:

Don Mallinson, of DC Care Care and SHO fame, posted the following regarding car soap on his site www.dccarecare.com:

Companies that have a vested interest in you buying their products have been spreading the word about all the damage that dishwashing soap will do to your car. Here is my take on all this.

The reason you wash a car is to remove dirt. To do that you need to do several things, most important is you need to make the water....wetter.

This may seem silly at first, what is more wet than water after all? Well, lots of things, but first and foremost, water has a thing called surface tension. This is what keeps water beading on shiny cars, and why you can fill a glass higher than the rim, up to a point. A good car wash soap will act to break down the surface tension. That is why soapy water doesn't bead.

Second, a wash soap must remove grease and dirt. It needs to be a detergent to do that, otherwise you are depending on the action of the wash cloth/mitt on the paint to scrape off the dirt. Not a pretty picture.