• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Fixing 2nd and 3rd Gear Syncro

Blackcoog

Hard-core CEG'er
I have a SVT that has the 2nd and 3rd gear grind. I picked up another transmission from a local NECO member. I cracked the case open but I'm no expert on transmissions. I tossed the bad diff and installed a good one I had. Syncros seemed to be ok so I installed the transmission. This transmission has the same 2nd and 3rd gear grind. :mad: For a moment there I thought I some how put the old one back in but I didn't... apparently I have really bad luck.

I'm going to fix the old one I have lying in the garage. To fix the 2nd and 3rd gear grind I looked at the MTX75 component list that was posted a while ago. I'm going bare mininum. This car has a stock 2.5L in it and it's going to be a daily driver for a friends dad.

Need to pick up: (ran price check on parts.com and prices have gone up quite a bit on syncros)

1-2 Syncro: F8RZ-7124-AA -> 6S7Z7124E ($97.74)
3-4 Syncro: F8RZ-7124-BA -> 6S7Z7124D ($49.44)
3-4 Syncro Cone: F8RZ-7M000-BB ($49.39) Listed as a roller bearing in one post a while back.

1-2 Inner Blocker Ring: YS4Z-7107-DA ($21.38) (Do I need 2 like mentioned in the excel document?)
1-2 Outer Blocker Ring: F5RZ-7107-B ($24.14) (Do I need 2 like mentioned in the excel document?)

3rd Inner Blocker Ring: F5RZ-7107-DA -> YM2Z7107EB ($12.64)
3rd Outer Blocker Ring: F5RZ-7107-A -> YM2Z7107EB ($12.64)

Do I need anything else? Anyone do this themselves? Do I need a puller or a press?

Thanks,
Chris

Be aware that even when everything is as perfect as it can be this trans has a tendency to have a slightly sloppy (occasionally grinding) 3rd gear.