• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Engine detail

my98SVTturbo

Hard-core CEG'er
my engine looks really dirty and bland. what are some good ways to spruce it up and make it look brand new and have a shiney finish to it especialy on the plenum

Use some diluted simple green or super clean degreaser (super clean is better IMO). Wet the engine a bit (being mindful of the intake), spray the engine with the degreaser. Wait a few minutes for it to start working and work at the dirtiest spots with a soft brush, rinse and you're good to go.
I've been detailing for roughly 5 years and this has always worked well for me. Hope it helps!

Have you had any problems arrise from water getting down in the plug wells? I cleaned my engine like this on my 94 SHO and I had one of the cylinders miss firing. As it turned out water got down in the plug well and causing the plug wire to arc across the valve cover plug well... no good. I had to replace the plug wire.

I guess if you are going to do this I would make sure your plug wires are sealed quite well against the valve cover so you don't have the possibility of this happening to you when you clean the engine.

you could always use a sparay bottle with water instead of the hose...then it wouldn't be too bad as far as water in the spark plug holes...

If you use a hose just dont use a nozzle. Let it flow freely out of the end. A jet of water could force water in places it wouldnt normally go. I have never had a problem with water getting where it shouldnt. Also, run the engine afterwards to let it heat up and help evaporate the water more quickly.

I did my E-Zero engine compartment last month before the Saleen show... came out very nice (see below).