• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

egt ?

BrApple

No Life But CEG
since I am new to this would high temp powder coat good to 1000 degrees be able to stand up to the exhaust gas temp from a turbo application?

I know Jet hot would be the best way to go but was wondering what other types of coating could be used to coat the exhaust pipes for the NPG turbo kit.

Just an FYI, my EGT's see between 1400 to 1500 degrees when I'm full into it :eek:

I would go with either jet hot or exhaust wrap.

ok but where is that reading taken? and do you know what NPG used as their coating?

Last edited:
You need a real ceramic coating. For gods sake screw heat wrap. Worst stuff on earth. Especialy on mild steel. Your ONLY option is Swain coating! Trust me. Yes its expensive, but well worth the money. That plus turbo blanket = cool engine compartment. Do it!

ok but where is that reading taken? and do you know what NPG used as their coating?

The temp probe is mounted at the up pipe (ypipe) where it bolts up to the rear header. Yes I know its supposed to be further up on the header for accuracy. But I did not want to drill into the pretty headers for part out reasons.

I'm not 100% positive what Joey used, I remember seeing the process in the first thread he started. Anyway, he can clarify that.

The temp probe is mounted at the up pipe (ypipe) where it bolts up to the rear header. Yes I know its supposed to be further up on the header for accuracy. But I did not want to drill into the pretty headers for part out reasons.

I'm not 100% positive what Joey used, I remember seeing the process in the first thread he started. Anyway, he can clarify that.

well what ever it is how is it holding up over time?