• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Does SVT Lock Out Programming?

SkullV

Veteran CEG'er
Hey guys,

I do all my own tuning on my GM vehicles (CTS-V, Grand Prix) but I am new to fords and particularly "tuner company" vehicles. Does SVT lock out their PCMs or can I write over/adjust their tune as if it were a stock Contour PCM?

Hey guys,

I do all my own tuning on my GM vehicles (CTS-V, Grand Prix) but I am new to fords and particularly "tuner company" vehicles. Does SVT lock out their PCMs or can I write over/adjust their tune as if it were a stock Contour PCM?

I believe you can get an Xcal with the pro racer package to do your own tuning.

Yeah, an xcal and PRP package are the only things that are going to allow you to do anything like that and they will run about $700 the last time I knew. We don't have anything like HPtuners for this platform.

I'm actually going to have a buddy of mine who tunes fords professionally do it for me (well use his hardware I THINK its Xcal3) but I just need to know if I am going to have any problems getting locked out of SVT's tune?

I'm actually going to have a buddy of mine who tunes fords professionally do it for me (well use his hardware I THINK its Xcal3) but I just need to know if I am going to have any problems getting locked out of SVT's tune?

The only problem you will have if you are using your buddy's xcal is that if he's already using it to tune one vehicle, he has to return that vehicle to stock before he can use the xcal to start tuning yours.