• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

DIY Y-pipe optomization

Harry, all these questions and no reply???

I'm going to weld a horizontal hanger on tomorrow and hang it to the factor hanger like the Trubendz. I'll post pics too.

-Nick

Sorry....i do so much pm'img...and i work for a living ya know :laugh:

Place the Hanger before the cat!....i explained this already. I was just wondering what materials you used...because the original pipes used are SS and you welded alum to them..telling me both metals didn't bond properly resulting in a weaker weld that is going to hold the pipes together!

Sorry....i do so much pm'img...and i work for a living ya know :laugh:

Place the Hanger before the cat!....i explained this already. I was just wondering what materials you used...because the original pipes used are SS and you welded alum to them..telling me both metals didn't bond properly resulting in a weaker weld that is going to hold the pipes together!

I work for a living too, but I sit in front of a computer for most of the day and have unblocked internet access :cool:

Not sure if you've looked at the pictures, but there is no cat! Maybe you meant flex-pipe :shrug:

I will weld the hanger in-line with the factor hanger in that location. Everything should be fine. When I did a test fit I noticed there is almost no stress in the pipe and I attribute this to the extremely low weight now that the old flange and cat are gone. The entire new y-pipe weighs probably about a half or maybe less than the old cat pipe alone!!!

I'll post pics :cool:

I work for a living too, but I sit in front of a computer for most of the day and have unblocked internet access :cool:

Not sure if you've looked at the pictures, but there is no cat! Maybe you meant flex-pipe :shrug: