• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

CSVT v. SSR?

primalzer1998

CEG'er
Got a good friend that wants to run me at the track. I've got a stock CSVT and she has the 300HP SSR. She has taken it to the track and ran consistent 15.2's, with varying traps. Now considering what I've read this is a fairly similar time for stock CSVT's, yeah? Would it just come down to a driver's mod?

-Jon

15.2 fairly similar time for stock CSVT's, yeah? -Jon

Well jon, no its not/ 15.4-15.7 is what contour runs.

Most decent drivers in stock form svt make it to 15.4's. Really goo drivers can get it down to 15.0's flat.

Now are u a experienced driver??

what year svt do u have.

Yeah I'll probably be that 15.4-15.7 range. I'm not too experienced at all. Drive my car a lot but I don't do too much WOT shifting. Mostly do economy driving. I have a '98 CSVT, so I would assume that it would be a little slower than normal.

Another question, when shifting at WOT at the track, you want to let off the gas yes? I have a friend who shifts without letting up. I guess I wouldn't be that fast, and it would probably hurt my time rather than gaining anything.

-Jon

Slamming the gears without lifting in a stock or even midly modified SVT MIGHT gain you 2-4 HUNDRETHS (read: max, a quarter of a tenth or so.)

What it is COSTING YOU, though, is going to be MUCH more expensive. Don't waste your time. In your car, with your skills, and your mods, vs a consistent 15.2 trap; you won't win.

don't waste your time powershifting unless you've got the funds for a tranny rebuild...

what kind of trap speed was it hitting?

I have a friend who shifts without letting up. I guess I wouldn't be that fast, and it would probably hurt my time rather than gaining anything.

-Jon