• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Alternator woes

FokusDave

CEG'er
Put a new alternator in last week. Next day noticed at night after turning it on and driving it I get a pulse in all the lights. Even the headlights pulse. Going to bring her in the shop tonight and check the battery terminals and run a voltage test. Praying its not a bad alternator. Im not really a mechanic and work at a Honda dealership so it took a Honda tech and I forever and a day just to swap the alternator. And I do not want to go thru that hell again. But it is what it is. Any suggestions if we cant find something obvious? Much appretiated. BTW the alternator we took off the housing was cracked all the way around. Mechanic said he had never seen that before lol. Car drives good and doesn't act up aside from the pulsating lights at night. Obviously don't notice during the day since lights are on.

Pulsating lights are common on this platform. There's a fairly easy "How-To" over on the NECO forum that will eliminate it...and you can perform the mod by taking the alternator wire and snaking it up to the topside of the engine and work on it there.

Tho first I'd confirm your alternator is performing correctly, your terminals on the battery are not corroded, and your ground wires are not oxidized where they attach to the body/engine.

hmm good info. Thank you. I have located the walk thru on how to fix the dimming on the cougar site. I will tackle that once I know that my alternator and battery are both function correctly. Thanks again.

(Untitled)

Chances are it's a bad reman alternator. Check the voltage when this is happening, chances are is fluctuating. The voltage regulator is most likely to blame.