• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Battery Relocation kit

Status
Not open for further replies.
well I think the 4 guage is good enough and then I can just replace the stereo witing I already have in the car ... but I suppose I could step it up to the 0/1 gage ... which ever is needed first ...

Keep in mind, that if you run more amps in the trunk, they won't be pulled off the same 4 guage wire as the starter thanks to the pimpy distribution block that Steeda is including in this kit. I got the 0/1 guage stuff because I'm an engineer, and I like to go for overkill.

btw, Steeda delivered my kit personally yesterday. If this were ebay, I'd give him A++ feedback; he's my hero.

Not to derail this thread but...

There's a difference between the right way and what you can get away with. Running a battery cable that is to small will cause a HUGE voltage drop and potentially a FIRE. If you live in a warm climate, you can get away with a 20% voltage drop to your starter. Also, 95% of the time, a car stereo amp only draws a fraction of it's rated power. 8awg works for the majority of car stereo systems.

Ideally, you don't want more than a 3% voltage drop. Measure the run to your trunk, double it, then check out the chart/link below...

http://ecatalog.westmarine.com/0554.asp

HTH,
BP

Just so you know.

I had a 92 SHO with a Relocated battery using 4 gauge. BTW the SHO Starter pulls 120amps. Also had a Elemental designs Nine.1 and Nine.4 as well as a ton of other electronic devices. Zero Issues over 2 years. Also the current owner has the same setup and has for over a year and a half.

Soo 3.5 years in a car that pulls more power to get started than any CONTOUR on the road. Just some food for thought :)

Not to derail this thread but...