• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

to sand blast or not

montrese04

Veteran CEG'er
I'm a beginner with painting cars but i do have alot of painting experience when it comes to houses ans so forth. I hope to paint my car in the near future. does not have any rust spots but figured i could be lazy and sand blast the car and not haft to worry about trying to get all the grease and wax out of the paint. so whats everyone's opinion.

also where can i get a rattle can of t-red?
also will THIS spray gun kit do. or should i get ONE solid gun for around $200 and use that gun for my primer, base coat, and clear (i understand the last option is not the best but i would like quality. i just don't have the best finances in the world. I'm not looking for a nopi wet candy gloss paint finish. Just would like it to look like it came from the dealership tho.

im kinda curious about the blasting idea as well. I just picked up a blasting system and a paint gun yesterday lol. I think the ideal thing is to have a gun for primer alone usually and then another for your paint and clear, but im no professional.

My first question would be what areas on your car are you planning on sandblasting?

Those mini sandblasting units you buy at Northern aren't worth their weight in scrap metal. So I would stay clear of those unless you have real minor detailed work to accomplish. Things like nuts and bolts and what not. If you're talking full skin sheet metal like your hood, doors, and fenders your percentage of risk of warping the piss out of them just went through the roof with one of those tiny units.

If the rust is spotty and significantly close to a body line...say for instance your fender lip, then you are probably ok. However, if the rust carries to the outer skin/up the side the risk becomes high again.