• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Turbo list

whodoescare

CEG'er
ok so i am getting more and more anxious to save up the money and buy a turbo from nautilus for my svt. i was just wondering if anyone had a list of mods i would need to do, approx how much it would cost, and how much time to do them. things such as battery relocation, clutch replacement, etc. the cost of the turbo is high for my income, i need to know how much additional money ill need to put into it in order for it to be useful.
also, what are most of the guys here running? the .63 ar midrange power or the .82 ar topend power? master power, precision, or turbonetics? and whats the difference of each?
im not that experienced with cars so forgive me :)
also the tune. is the mail order one good or would i have to go to a place with a dyno?

Not sure how crazy your going or what your power goals are, but I'll assume you'll get the 275 whp kit and do full installation of everything yourself, just to make this easy. Hopefully, you have the revised pistons in your motor (late 99 to 2000). I ran the .63 on my 3.0L with the ADC kit and could have made 400 whp, but its really up to you. With a 2.5L, you could probably get 350 whp out of a .63 but not with the base NPG kit. The .82 will definitely make 400 whp on the top of the line NPG turbo kit.

This is what I would consider bare essentials:
NPG Turbo Kit + Turbonetics upgrade - $3150
X-CAL 2 - $380
Battery Relocation and wiring - $100
MSDS Headers and y-pipe - $700
Aftermarket Catback or Custom Exhaust - $600
SPEC Stage 3+ clutch - $450
SPEC flywheel - $350
Quaife LSD - $800
Driveshaftshop Stage 2 Axles - $700
DMD - $80
Larger brakes - $400+
----------------------------------
$7710

If paying someone to install your turbo kit, clutch, lsd, etc expect about another $1500 ($9,200 total) just to be safe.