• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

1999 Contour with cracked engine block, whats next?

DJBERN

CEG'er
My radiator went out in December, and being a broke college student, I drove it around anyway, only for short distances. I took it on a 2 hr trip and the engine overheated, it died on the side of the road. I tried to start it back up, and all I hear is grinding. I assume it's a cracked engine block, but I haven't had it checked out yet. So here's the question, what should I do next?

1) Could it possibly be something other than a cracked engine block?

2) Should I try to put a new engine in it, like http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1999...006QQitemZ160218630232QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWD1V this one? Sorry for the eBay link.

3) If I didn't want to fix it, how much could I sell it for? The body is in good shape, the only problem is the trunk lid, where one of the hinges is loose from the lid, so it takes some effort to close it.

I'm either gonna get it fixed, or sell it and save $ for a down payment on a new car, but i'd like to fix it if the ENGINE repair is less than $1000

What should I do?

personally i wud start with a very detailed inspection of the engine and bay, and compression test if possible, then if nothing was found i might consider pulling the head and/or oil pan to check the internal components. :shrug: if you do sell it as a parts car or damaged engine car i doubt anyone who wud buy will really care if the head has been pulled as long as it goes with the car.

anyway, that's just me, i would inspect the crap out of it before deciding to sell or fix...and i'd probly fix it anyway. that's just me tho:shrug:

There is no reason to jump to the conclusion that the engine block is cracked. Take it to a repair shop and have them do a free estimate. Then you can decide whether to fix it yourself or have them do it.