• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Advice needed

primalzer1998

CEG'er
Alright just for starters I am a college student on a budget with nearly NO tools at my disposal. Couple of basic hand tools, and MAYBE a basic ratchet set. Well now the problem, my car seems not to be running well. Just doesn't have the oomph it did when i bought it and often stutters at idle. It has 108,xxx on the odo, and gets a lot of highway, not too much around town, but will go a long time without running (4 days then a short drive, 4 days then a short drive, after a couple months a 500 mile trip etc). Now I have read through the sticky, I don't really have the means to do the intake manifold clean by myself, and sucking in some berrymen's just seems like a moot point. Changing the plugs and wires doesn't seem to be too economical especially if it doesn't do much of anything. And I wouldn't even probably be able to do the plugs and wires, and would have to pay to get it done. It does have a CEL, but it is a lean on bank 1, and I've been told it is a false code, but is making me think more and more that it might not be false. I try to put premium gas in as much as possible, but I stay in chicago a lot of the time, and when gas is 3.05 a gallon for regular, it's very hard to suck up and get the premium. So my question is, where should I start, and what should i suck up and do?

-Jon

Start by catching up on maintenance. Do it a little at a time if necessary.

The approach I would take would be to start with a can of RedLine SI-1 in a full tank of fuel. If RedLine is not available, use Techron (the concentrated stuff, not the stuff that says it includes Techron), Berryman's or Valvoline Synpower Injector Cleaner.

Confirm condition of air filter and replace if needed.

Clean the throttle body and IAC. Minimal tools needed.

Clean the intake manifold (yes, it does help).