• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Pioneer DH-1800 help

my98SVTturbo

Hard-core CEG'er
i have a pioneer DH-1800 deck and it wont hook up with the stock adapters. what kind of adaptor do i need to get? and how much $$$ does it usualy run?

ok im kinda new to this whole audio thing so does "bypassing the stock amp" just mean installing a aftermarket deck in and taking out the old OE deck? and also what is this peice called? do they sell them at walmart by any chance?

ok im kinda new to this whole audio thing so does "bypassing the stock amp" just mean installing a aftermarket deck in and taking out the old OE deck? and also what is this peice called? do they sell them at walmart by any chance?

If you read the how-to you would of noticed that "Bypassing the factory amp" means exactly what it says.... The factory radio outputs low level signal to the amp which takes the low level input from the radio and outputs high level sound to the speakers. An after market radio already outputs high level from the wires on the back of it. If you were to keep the factory amp hooked up, you would be double amping a high level signal, which makes the amp and the after market radio's amp work harder... Unless your new radio has RCA outputs, then you can integrate with the factory amplifier, since RCA's output low level signal. It's better to bypass a factory amp whenever possible..... then you don't have to worry about doing it later if the factory amp does give out.... Just follow the instructions and do the bypass as the how-to shows... It's really not that hard....

You may be able to find one of the parts at wal-mart, but the bypass harness probably not... have to try best buy or circuit city... also just remember you get what you pay for....

Last edited: