Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
Hard-core CEG'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG'er
B
I took some pictures.

The car has 107K miles and the plugs a little over 30K.

I was surprised to see how much oiled the top portion was. Is that normal ??

Please take a look at them here:

Plugs Photos

Thanks

Anything is POSSIBLE... sowing the seeds of love"
C
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
C
I took my spark plugs out at 99K and they had never been removed before, and looked nothing like that, no oil was covering them, and they were all a light whiteish brown color on the ends, as for where the name is, mine looked like the ceramic was burnt like urs do but they didn't have what appears to be rust, or the oil all over them. So I'm gonna say no its not normal, but Im no expert.

my $0.02, hope it helps at least a lil bit

Alan 93 Acura Integra LS 5spd Horizon Gray Metallic ------------------------- -96 Gl Zetec ATX- Totaled as of 11/29/03 at 4pm Champagne Metallic CC Pics
M
I am Canuckian
I am Canuckian
M
Is your engine bay really oily? that much oil on the plugs threads would make me think that your engine is really dirty. I can't see the oil coming from inside the engine and working its way up. I'd imagine with oil in the spark plug hole when you removed the plugs you got it on the threads of the plugs. From the tips of the plugs I don't see to much out of line.

Green 96 mystique gs 4cyl mtx 16.9 in the 1/4 mile @102500 miles 95SE in Midnight Red MTX MSDS headers and y-pipe SVT exhaust SVT UIM Optimized se TB. Full pre 98 SVT body kit 15.741 @ 87.73mph :)
R
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
R
You need to pull the valve cover and replace the gasket and plug bore seals (like O-rings). The extra oil will destroy the plug wire boots, the plug tips look normal.

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it" -George Santayana
T
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
T
this:

http://www.contour.org/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=trouble&Number=386692&page=&view=&sb=5&o=&vc=1