Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#72521 02/11/01 05:03 AM
H
OP Offline
H
I just ordered pioneer 6x8's for front and back and was wondering what I would need to do it myself (install). DO I just need to take off door panel and take old out and plug new in ??? Or do I need kits and stuff to figure what wires go where....
Im new at this but dont want to spend 60 odd bucks at best buy to install

#72522 02/11/01 06:07 AM
S
S
If you bought 6x8's...it should be as easy as pulling out the old and installing the new. Keep in mind that most factory ford speakers have special connectors on them which the factory speaker harness plugs into. You will either have to cut the plastic connector off the speaker harness and crimp on the solderless connectors onto the harness in order to connect it to the aftermarket speaker...or you can buy one of those factory harness adapters that will plug right into the speaker harness plug. Years ago they only had these for the head unit but now they also have them for the speaker connectors. They are a little harder to find. I don't think you can find them at Wal Mart. I have seen them for sale on the web for around $8 a pair. A local car stereo shop might have them as well. I recommend using the adapters if the can find them and you have the $$ for them. No sense in butchering your factory wiring and plugs. Good luck!

Mike

99SE ATX V6
Hollister, CA
#72523 02/11/01 02:50 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A