Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
H
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
H
A friend of mine has owned/driven Contours for a while now and has just recently purchased a used 99 SVT Contour with a few mods. He's interested having me install a Vortech on his new SVT. I'm not new the world of forced induction but he is and I don't think he understands why his 10:1 compression ratio scares me.

My questions are:
1) With the high CR on the 2.5L how long do the stock pistons last? Has anyone cracked/melted a stock piston yet at 8-10psi?

2) Does a SVT 2.5L have a knock sensor?

3) How long for an install time? Did it take the advertised 10-14 hours?

4) What is the CFM rating for this blower @ 8-10psi?

5) Anyone have any after install dyno numbers WITH wideband air/fuel ratios?

Thanks for your time!:)

'99 Mustang GT '91 Talon TSi AWD T3/T4
J
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
J
Hello and welcome to contour.org. A little off the subject, where in Wisconsin are you from?????? I'm not a vortech expert at all, but from what I've heard when all is said and done it will take a lot longer then the ten to fourteen hours the company says. Plus there is a bracket that pretty much you have to have the motor out of the car to align right. I'm sure the real experts will tell you everything you need to know though.

1998 Silver Frost CSVT #4014 Some mods My car
R
"Absolut Rara."
"Absolut Rara."
R
Originally posted by HighPSITalon:
A friend of mine has owned/driven Contours for a while now and has just recently purchased a used 99 SVT Contour with a few mods. He's interested having me install a Vortech on his new SVT. I'm not new the world of forced induction but he is and I don't think he understands why his 10:1 compression ratio scares me.

My questions are:
1) With the high CR on the 2.5L how long do the stock pistons last? Has anyone cracked/melted a stock piston yet at 8-10psi?

Thanks for your time!:)