Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S
Ok, the subject says it all...Never any problems before on this unit...starting or otherwise...in-service date is 10/23/98, 68K miles. Backed her out of the garage to clean it out (the garage) and when I tried to start it 5 hours later, nothing except the expected indicator lights...when ignition is on and motor not running.

Can't imagine a starter or solenoid would go just like that...but I'm not an expert...just a driver.

Any clues

Rich 1999 T-Red SE MTX (Mine) 1994 Red Explorer XLT (Son's) 2001 P-Gold XLT 4x4 Escape (Wife's)
I
Veteran CEG\'er
Veteran CEG\'er
I
can still be a bad battery, especially with that much time on it. Enough juice to run lights, but not enought to turn starter or even click. I had a 4 hour argument with a friend who had the exact problem you describe. I told him battery, he said no way. Cost him $75.00 to have it towed in, & they replaced the battery. Pull the battery & take it in and have it bench/load tested, usually free at most parts stores.

contours, deloreans & fiats, oh my!
B
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
B
clutch starter disable switch ?

www.ChicagoCEG.com 2006 White Grand Prix
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S
Just took it in to Murreys & it tested good 570 CCA left on it...I know...I thought battery too, but ??? Guess I could replace it just for the heck of it...but I don't think that would help me right now...

Thanks for the thought though...

Now...where the heck is than manual to look up the Clutch starter switch...?...around here somewhere...

Last edited by SetiRich; 10/02/02 05:52 PM.

Rich 1999 T-Red SE MTX (Mine) 1994 Red Explorer XLT (Son's) 2001 P-Gold XLT 4x4 Escape (Wife's)
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S