Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Hello all, newbie here. I'm on the verge of buying a 1998.5 Contour SVT, Black/blue clean Carfax, no wrecks,104K miles. Questions:

1. Any problems in particular I should look for? I have heard of dash warping, water pump failure, etc.

2. What is the defect in the factory water pump that justifies replacement?

3. Timing belt or timing chain? When should it be replaced?

4. I read something about engine failure during right hand turns??? Does that make sense to anyone?

5. Lastly, this thing already has 104K on it. How many miles are the SVTs good for until things start needing replaced.

Thanks everyone. I appreciate all the advice you can give.

R
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
R

1. Dash warp seems to be a problem mainly on 99-00 models, I have the original water pump after 103k, but some have failed. Be gentle to the transmission, the differential is weak. (don't drop the clutch)

2. I believe it is the plastic impellars?

3. Timing chain

4. Long, fast right hand turns can cause oil starvation, air gets into the system.

5.Stay on top of the maintenance and it will treat you well, I have 103k and it feels no different than it did at 29k when I bought it.

I did have my transmission replaced but I believe it was due to abuse by the previous owner and my lack of having it checked out properly, I guess I learned my lesson there.

Welcome, this website is very valuable to contour owners and the search function is your best friend.

6450 of 6535 6-16-98
B
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
B
First of all, Welcome to CEG!

Second, WTH, I was gone for a week and now every new person has a black name... is this something to tell if they're new users or something?

Third:

1) There's a lot of threads on the problems, lemme dig a current one up... here ya go