Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
F
OP Offline
F
SO, I'm a newbie to this group, but before I'd been lurking finding (trying to) some answers on this quite annoying car. Every Ford I touch seems to have a very idiotic way of fixing them, in one area or another.

So, heres the preface to the problems. I got this car from a guy who hated it with a passion. He was always fixing this or that, and finally got all the stuff fixed and then shot a rod. He wasn't kidding, there were two holes in the oil pan and it was almost broken right in half!!

So, without any knowledge on this car whatsoever, nor help, I proceeded to spend quite some time replacing the engine. Got it fired up today and actually idled really well!

Couple problems I'm having however...

To start the car, I have to jumper the solenoid right to the battery with the ign. on, which tells me its most likely the starter relay. I doubt the clutch switch or ign. switch is it, because this was a perfectly normal running car prior to the rod going on permanent vacation.
Is it relay 6 in the fuse box?

When the car fires up (quite nicely might I add) and I drive down the road, the speedo and odo aren't functioning. Is there a cable or connector somewhere that maybe I forgot to plug back in?

Now for the grand finally! Jeez...
A couple times when I came up to a light and put the clutch in (believe the revs were above 2k when I put the clutch in), the revs would just plummet and shut down the engine. WTF is that?!

Ok, begin discussing :^)

'98 SE V6 Mtx Black - For Sale
P
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
P
Welcome aboard. You will, in time (probably not too long), hate this car as much as the PO did.

R6 is the starter relay. You also have the clutch interlock switch, the ignition switch, and the PATS system (if present) involved in the starter relay circuit. Any could be the cause of your fault.

Check the electrical connector to the VSS.