Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
G
I did a real bonehead thing and poured a little bit of Mobil 1 ATF in the motor oil hole. I thought that it was Mobil 1 synthetic. The two bottles look so similar, but the red fluid finally gave it away. I only poured about an 1/8 of a quart in. I am planning to have it flushed all out. Will this hurt the engine if I run it?

1998 Black CSVT, 75k mi
S
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
S
Nope you will be fine...just drain it out

1998.5 SVT contour #5979 3L 1995 Mercury Mystique 2.5L auto, all ghetto fo sho
M
M
No-
Actually it has a detergent in it that will clean your motor out very well. I used to work in a shop that serviced Bentley and Ferrari. The shop owner was a master mechanic. He would substitute a quart of oit with ATF and have the customer run it for a week. He would then do an oil change after the week(as long as it did not valve clatter). I thought he was crazy but he assured me it was fine(he had been a mechanic for over 35 years) so I guess he knew what he was talking about. It breaks loose all of the gook. I think that a little will be fine. Equate it to addind some marvel mystery oil in there between each oil change-
M

T
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
T
Originally posted by starjammir:
Nope you will be fine...just drain it out

+1. Just drain it out.

"Always do the cheap and easy ones first." 1996 V6 ATX 96K miles
E
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
E
Originally posted by moneypitsvt:
No-
Actually it has a detergent in it that will clean your motor out very well...... I think that a little will be fine. Equate it to addind some marvel mystery oil in there between each oil change-
M

I agree, that little bit is no problem.

B
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
B
Find something else to loose sleep over. It is true that it once was a common thing to add some ATF to clean up an engine. There are better additives for that today, but a small amount will not hurt anything.