Print Thread
#1613804 07/20/06 03:47 PM
Y
Y2KSVT Offline OP
Addicted CEG\'er
OP Offline
Addicted CEG\'er
Y
So lastnight, I started playing around with the top nut on driver's side front strut. I've developed a clunking noise over rough roads, and want to see if it's a loose nut, or a bad strut. Well I've got the SBC? camber kit, with the flimsy top plate on there right now. If I try to loosen the top nut, it just spins the strut shaft. So I pried the plate up, got a wrench on the nut below the plate, and tried turning the top nut off again. It's STUCK! PB Blasted the hell out of it, with no luck. Any suggestions on getting this nut off? Should I just get 2 huge pry bars for the end of the wrenches, and have 2 people pry on it?

Mark

2000 Black CSVT 3.0L Hybrid - 206fwhp & 195fwtq
R
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
R
Originally posted by Y2KSVT:
So lastnight, I started playing around with the top nut on driver's side front strut. I've developed a clunking noise over rough roads, and want to see if it's a loose nut, or a bad strut. Well I've got the SBC? camber kit, with the flimsy top plate on there right now. If I try to loosen the top nut, it just spins the strut shaft. So I pried the plate up, got a wrench on the nut below the plate, and tried turning the top nut off again. It's STUCK! PB Blasted the hell out of it, with no luck. Any suggestions on getting this nut off? Should I just get 2 huge pry bars for the end of the wrenches, and have 2 people pry on it?

Mark

On the stock struts there was an allen key on the top of the shaft for this purpose. The Konis don't have the allen, but they should have flat spots up there that you can get a small open-end wrench on.

I don't know what kind of struts you have.

Function before fashion. '96 Contour SE "Toss the Contour into a corner, and it's as easy to catch as a softball thrown by a preschooler." -Edmunds, 1998
T
I have no life
I have no life
T
Air gun.