Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
S
OP Offline
S
I am a newbie here so please forgive that. I have read some of the posts on the 3.0L performance and I didnt see any with the problem I am having. I have a 1995 Mystique, formerly A2Steve's, with a 3.0L conversion done. I believe it is running 19 lb injectors with the stock 2.5L ECU. The problem I am having is that it seems to be running very lean from idle to 3000 RPM and the car surges, the CEL is on for lean on bank 2. I would maybe like to put a differenct ECU in it but being a 95 pretty much every place I called to see if they can make a custom one for it said I am SOL because it is ODB-I not ODB-II. Are there any quick fixes, i.e. injectors or other bolt ons, that would remedy the situation?

Thanks for your time

Kurt Kiefer

S
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
S
Find out what is causing the problem rather than throwing random parts at it. That won't do anything but lighten you wallet.

2000 SVT Turbo 295hp/269ftlb@12psi #1 for Bendix Brakes Kits! Knuckles rebuilt w/new bearings $55 AUSSIE ENDLINKS $70 Gutted pre-cats $80/set A lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on mine!
W
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
W
Ditto! What he said.

Try looking for a vacuum lea first, or a bad O2 sensor on that bank second.

Former owner of '99 CSVT - Silver #222/2760 356/334 wHP/TQ at 10psi on pump gas! See My Mods '05 Volvo S40 Turbo 5 AWD with 6spd, Passion Red '06 Mazda5 Touring, 5spd,MTX, Black
S
OP Offline
S
Alright, over the weekend, I removed the IAC, cleaned and lubed it, inspected all the intake manifold gaskets and retorqued it according to the rebuild instructions on the site here. The motor still seems to be running lean from idle to 3000 rpm. The O 2 sensors were mentioned in one post, is there any way to test to ensure proper working order of these? Any other ideas are welcome.

Thanks

Kurt Kiefer

W
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
W