Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
I am looking to do my first real maintenance (outside of oil, oil filter, air filter) on my 1999 Contour 2.5L.

I like the idea of cleaining the UIM and LIM without haveing to removed them (as I found in the FAQ titled: "UIM - Cleaning intake manifolds without removing them by Big Jim")

Anyway, and maybe this if obvious, but which vacuum taps do you need to disconenct to run the cleaner through? (I've read the description of "The cleaner is fed through the vacuum taps on the top of the intake manifold just behind the throttle body." but a picture would be nice).

Compared to people here, I am a novice at all of this, but I like doing the work, and if I can save some cash while doing some good maintenance at the same time, I am up for it. I just want to make sure that I don't shoot cleaner in the wrong area and screw things up.

Any quick assistance would be great as I am ready for an oil change in the next couple of days, and it would be nice to do the UIM and LIM cleaning (and TB while I am at it) and then do the oil and maybe spark plugs/wires (still on the originals at 72K miles) if I have time. A little injector cleaner as well per instructions on the UIM, LIM cleaning FAQ, and I should be sitting pretty good for a little while (fuel filter was replaced about 5K miles ago when the fuel pump went out).

Thanks to any and all that can help out with this simple request.

T
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
T
Originally posted by Nick Buol:
..Anyway, and maybe this if obvious, but which vacuum taps do you need to disconenct to run the cleaner through? (I've read the description of "The cleaner is fed through the vacuum taps on the top of the intake manifold just behind the throttle body." but a picture would be nice).

Picture Number 8. UIM/LIM rebuild with pics in Duratec Maintenance FAQ.