Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
OP Offline
M
Hey everyone.I am new to this so let me know if i do anything wrong.
Anyways here is my question,Ijust bought a 98 ford contour LX with the 2.5L duratec in it. I was hoping that everyone could give me some advice on the regular maintenace and for things to watch out for to help prevent future problems.
Any advice on this matter would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks, ciao.
Mike.T

T
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
T
Welcome . If you don't have an Owners' Manual or Maintenance Schedule Booklet, donwload from www.fleet.ford.com. How many miles on the "new" car? Auto or manual? Do the usual 3K miles/3 months oil change if using regular mineral oil. Most of us here keep the coolant half inch above the max line (coolant sensor idiosyncracy will sometimes cause the bulb to light up if near or slightly below the max line). In addition, most of us with the V6 Duratec, keep the oil level half quart above the max line too (there is a issue with long sweeping right hand turns which causes toasted engines). I think that means 6 to 6.3 quarts of engine oil is usually preferred as insurance. Note that some have kept the oil just at the max line with no problems. If the WP is not changed, you may want to consider changing that (the old ones had a black plastic impeller which tended to fail). Get the metal or white plastic impeller.

Edit. Duratec Maintenance FAQ
http://www.contour.org/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=v6maint&Number=958650&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=31&fpart=1

Last edited by Tony2005; 05/12/06 08:46 PM.

"Always do the cheap and easy ones first." 1996 V6 ATX 96K miles
M
OP Offline
M
Well i just got it put in my name today. It has 205.000 klm on it but 70% of it is highway miles. Its a 5 speed tranny.
I am not the most mechanically inclinde person lol what dose WP stand for? i thought it was wipers lol

E
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
E
water pump