Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
S
Hard-core CEG\'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG\'er
S
Originally posted by Chickens:
Originally posted by RTStabler51:
My understanding is that on my CRD the turbine changes/moves. I'm a newb to turbo stuff...

and Prodigy, what does it matter if its on gas or diesel....a turbo is a turbo is it not?

This new turbo has little bitty parts that are normally very sensitive to heat. Gasoline burns hotter and produces higher EGT than diesel. It looks like Porsche and Garrett found out that T316 (or higher) can handle the heat.

"porsche developed its version of VTG with Borg warner turbo systems, overcoming the far higher exhaust-gas temperatures of a gasoline engine with "temperature-resistant materials derived from aerospace technology"

Road & Track

PLEASE HELP ME GET MY CAR TOGETHER! ITS IN DAYTON OHIO! I need the motor together and in the car so i can DRIVE it! Pleeeeeese! diamond pistons for 3.0/forsale #702 of 2150
F
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
F
That quote sounds almost like a reference to ceramic coatings

S
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
S
The Focus Aerocharger Variable Vane turbo was the only thing on the market for Zetecs for a while there and the people who had it liked it.

The only problem asside from tuning that wasn't as good as it could have been, was that the vanes would eventually gunk up and would start overboosting and would ruin the turbo or blow the engine.

I've heard of a few guys who fixed the overboosting by just putting in a aftermarket external wastegate but that kind of defeats the purpose of the vanes.

The main benefit it had was it had an internal oil supply that would just need to be refilled every 3000 mi so it could be mounted below the oil level if needed.

2000 Rio Red I4 Cougar 200whp & 210wtq at 9psi 254whp & 276wtq with NX 35shot WRX TD04 Turbo, Cut Short Shifter, Strut Tower Bar, 17" ZN Wheels, Roush Springs, Starion Intercooler, NX 35 shot, HKS SS BOV, Full 3" exhaust,StreetFlight Chip
R
Hard-core CEG'er