Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
dragan Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi to all,

I'm new in Vancouver (new in Canada actually), got my Contour (97 sport) couple months ago, and I need some decent service, as it seems that catalytic converter is broken, and some regular service as well.

Been in 'Coastal Ford' service in Lougheed Hwy, and I don't want to see them ever again...got $500 bill for oil/sparks/filters change, and for telling me that they need $2500 to fix my catalytic converters (that's for all 3 of them - they believe it's bank 1, but 'strongly recomend' to replace all of them, and then I'll have no problems for sure!!!), as apparently that is the reason for 'check engine' light.
They finally established that after I went there for the 3rd time...

So if anybody can recomend me some mechanic who is not ford dealer preferably, where I can get that replaced (I need to replace brake pads as well), and as well where I can by that converter I'll really appreciate it.

Thanks,
Dragan

T
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
T
Here is the thing lots of people do. It is the cheapest and you get a little more power I guess. As for the main cat you will need to keep it for emission purposes.
-tropictour

2000 Contour SVT Tropic Green SHO Shop CAI Bassani 1999 Contour SE BAT Kit
G
Veteran CEG\'er
Veteran CEG\'er
G
Welcome! Another Vancouverite CEG'r, sweet. How did you hear of this site? As for myself, I take my contour to a local shop right where I live. It's called Brian's Auto Service. I find they do good work and I know a few people there so I can always watch the work they do and trust them. Once again, welcome!

Adrian 1999 CSVT, Tropic Green #1925/2760 Bosal Exhaust / B&M Shifter / Quad projector 4300K HID
D
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
D