Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
Hey guys...first post here, but I've already browsed this site and found a lot of useful info.

My fiancee's 98 contour has been having a idling problem, and I suspected a vacuum leak since she was also having problems with the brakes. They took it to a shop and told her it was going to be $700 to fix it. 98% of that cost is labor no doubt, they told them something about having to pull the motor to fix it, but I think that's BS.

I'm no expert on Contours, but I am good with a wrench and have done motor swaps and cam installs and everything under the sun with Pontiac Grand Prix GTP's, which are also FWD V6's (not DOHC, but still). If it is possible, and maybe someone on this great site has done a write up on it, I was considering doing it myself to save her the money, because we don't have alot saving for a wedding and all. And I was almost SURE I've seen a write up on here when I was searching for other info on her car here.

So what do you think guys, is it possible? Is there a GOOD write up out there? I don't doubt my mechanical skills, but I don't want to get into somethign way over my head either with no guide to go by.

Thanks alot!

Neal

Q
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
Q
Originally posted by ndolsongtp:
Hey guys...first post here, but I've already browsed this site and found a lot of useful info.

My fiancee's 98 contour has been having a idling problem, and I suspected a vacuum leak since she was also having problems with the brakes. They took it to a shop and told her it was going to be $700 to fix it. 98% of that cost is labor no doubt, they told them something about having to pull the motor to fix it, but I think that's BS.