Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1357210 08/10/05 12:34 AM
Hard-core CEG'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG'er
My wife's 96 Se seemed to be running a bit hotter than normal today. Its normaly in the M of normal, today it was riding on the L. Both fans are working, the water pump and thermostat were replaced a couple of years ago.

We shot it with a IR thermometer. After driving across town and alot of stop and go traffic in 90* heat, the water going into the radiator was 238* and 216* coming out.

Is this high for a duratec? Should I be looking for a problem, or is this about right for sitting in traffic on a 90*+ day?

Nick Johnson 87' & 88' Thunderbird TC 96' Contour SE Midnight Red ATX
#1357211 08/10/05 02:29 AM
F
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
F
I studied "fan behavior" because of a failed waterpump and later the a/c in my Mystique. M on normal is where both of our Mystiques turn on the cooling fans (when the a/c is not in use), then the temp should drop. Fans run on low speed at that time. Fans go to High speed when the a/c is on, sometimes for a minute or so, drop back to low. Fans always run with a/c on. Do you remember if the new waterpump had (black or white)plastic or metal impeller wheel? Seems a recent waterpump should not have failed yet regardless, unless many miles have gone by, but check it first, along with coolant level.

#1357212 08/10/05 03:02 AM
T
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
T
Did the temp go down when the two fans kicked on? If it did, probably okay. If not, was there a CEL? Post if there was one.

Maintenance items.
When was the last time engine oil and filter were changed? Change if more than 3K miles or 3 months. If within limits, and level is low, add to �½ quart above high.

When was the last time the coolant was flushed? If more than 24 months, flush the coolant. What is the strength of the coolant? ($5 coolant strength gauge should help). (you may decide that this portion should go all the way to the bottom).