Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
I've seen some posts about this before, but it seems that the possibilities for the P1383 code are many. I'm a newbie and have just started to get under the hood of my car.

99 SE 4 Cylinder

Here's what happened. I added some oil, and out of curiousity, unhooked the sensor on top of the engine to the left of the row of spark plugs, and hooked it back up. I nosed around a little more, and realized that the place that changed my oil last did not clamp down my air filter on one side, and air was rushing past it. I clamped it down, after looking at the filter and seeing that it was pretty clean.

When I got in the car, I had no pick-up. "Moosing" is what I thinks it's called. When it idles the RPMs modulate up and down, up and down. I changed the oil and the oil filter, and cleaned the MAF sensor.

THEN I noticed a hose that comes to the left of the battery, from something under the battery. It doesn't connect to anything from there. Not sure if it supposed to.

That's as much background as I can come up with. Any recommendations?

stevehwms@msn.com

L
CEG road warrior
CEG road warrior
L
VCT cam overretarded.....P1383. Did you plug the VCT solenoid back in?

Hector 2003 Rally Red Mitsubishi Evolution VIII 257HP/259TQ 2005 Lapis Blue Mazda 6s RET: 00 Cabernet Red Ford Contour Zetec ATX SUPERCHARGED 160HP/141TQ
N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
Yes, i plugged it back in immediately after un plugging it, and I've checked it a few times just to make sure since then. I wonder if it's a bad connection somewhere.

N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
UPDATE - This morning the car won't start. The starter is just making a racheting sound and the engine is not turning over... That just doesn't sound good.

M
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
M