Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
T
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
T
Well, got 2 different quotes for near $3000 for a new tranny, labor, yadda yadda..... Talked to a couple people whose wives work with my wife, and decided to try changing out the tranny fluid before going any farther.

So, I did the "4 & dump" method with limited improvement. But there is improvement. Did this until the fluid coming out looked like what was going in. Reverse still works like a champ, and drive will make the car creep very slowly down the road.

Now, my question is this...would putting a new valve body in make the difference or would I just be wasting money and time? Also, is there a possibility that one of the trans sensors could be adding to the problem? I can rebuild an engine with my eyes closed, but I have limited knowledge of transmissions.

Any help is always appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by TOUR'ING; 04/18/05 04:11 PM.
F
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
F
Before going any further answer a few questions first:

1) How many miles are on the car?
2) Other than your recent attempt to flush the tranny, when was the fluid last changed?

T
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
T
1. 152k
2. This is the first time I have changed the tranny fluid in it. (unsure before that)

We picked up the car used for a work runner for my wife. We got it with 135k on it, was a good deal for a $1000 (straight body and like new interior). When I checked the tranny fluid then, it looked brand new, so I changed the oil, filters, ect..

Last edited by TOUR'ING; 04/18/05 04:41 PM.
F
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
F
With that mileage, a new valvebody would only help for a little while if at all. Chance are that the forward/direct clutch pack is wore out ... I would highly advise a rebuild.

T
CEG\'er
OP Offline
CEG\'er
T