Next Thread
Print Thread
A
Acnon Offline OP
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
A
Greetings Gentlemen!! I'm a noob here so please go easy on me... (a Focus guy.. )

I'm currently working on a 96' Zetec Contour. It's in need of serious rehab. One of the things I've noticed is I never hear the radiator fan come on until the temperature gauge is practically in the red... This scares me. The owner has been told by countless mechanics that "that's just the way these cars are. The engines run too hot." As a owner of a 2 Zetec powered Foci, I'm calling B.S. I'm seeing a continuous reading of 180-190 degrees thru my scan tool. In addition, the temp gauge basically stabilizes around the "L". Is the rad fan on this car 2 speed? Are these temps too high? I'm looking at doing a full flush/t-stat/hoses on this one already, but I suspect something else is seriously wrong. Any advise here is greatly appreciated.

I'm also changing the timing belt and tensioner/pulleys, as well as serpentine idler and tensioner/belt. I'm going all out on this one. should I do the water pump while I'm in there??? Any other suggested maintenance?

Thanks!!

F
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
F
If your reading 180-190 with the scan tool but the guage is is the 'L' range, then it sounds like the guage is off. Having a guage that is not reading correctly is a problem that has been reported by others. Having a Zetec that runs hot has also been reported.

The fan is 2-speed. Turn on the AC and the high will come on automatically (assuming it's working).

I'd say change the WP if you do the belt.

Last edited by fdunford; 06/25/04 07:49 PM.

96 Sport 2.0L - 190,XXX miles
A
Addicted CEG\'er
Addicted CEG\'er
A