Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
Hard-core CEG\'er
OP Offline
Hard-core CEG\'er
S
When I graduated from my school they offer to sell the laptop you used while attending. I bought it back but have a question. It is set up as a ctrl,atl,dlt and then you type in your password. I want to run it like a regular personal laptop and not still on my school program. I no longer know my password to login which was dumb of me....I wrote it down and lost the slip.... My question is is there anyway I can bypass the password without knowing my password? Is buying a new hard drive my only option? If I need to clarify anything let me know.....Thanks for any help. -Stu

Previous Owner of: 1998 CSVT Black # 2923/6535 Born: 08/12/97 http://community.webshots.com/user/svtcontoursvt
K
Veteran CEG\'er
Veteran CEG\'er
K
If the password is hardwired into the system, there may be a way to bypass it.

If its a pesky program, its much more difficult without buying a new hard drive.

If it is a windows operating system with the hardwire password. You can go into the configuration setup when you start your computer, by pressing the "Delete" key or whatever it says to push at the first screen. From there, you should find a password protection menu.

I don't know if you need the password for that also, but its worth a shot.

My ride(Cardomain link) : '95 Contour 16V Zetec DOHC, Teal , ATX Born on Sep. 4, 1995 86+ miles *LEDs mods are on their way!*
C
Veteran CEG\'er
Veteran CEG\'er
C
There are several boot cd isos around that will allow you to edit/delete the system user passwords for NT/2000/XP. Google : windows password iso boot.

--JamesT

>--------------< --Chemguru 99 CSVT Frost /Mid. Blue 00 Suzuki SV650 Red, Naked
P
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
P
Also depends on the type of authentication, if it's a network password that adds some complexity as well.

"Bros before Hoes" <-- More men need this mentality.
G
Hard-core CEG\'er
Hard-core CEG\'er
G