Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S
Originally posted by HeavyWeight300:
When do you think you will be doing the swap??? I would like to rebuild my engine some day so if i can learn some things from doing yours it�s all the better. I don�t know much but I can turn a wrench and lift stuff. How far are you from Merrimack???

The work will be done in a friend's garage (home, not pro) in Milford, CT. I'm not sure how far that is from you, but I'd appreciate help lifting, etc.

My friend also home brews, and has a kegerator, so hopefully anyone helping out will not go thirsty.

2000 CSVT: silver frost, on stands spun bearing = crunchy motor
S
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
S
Originally posted by hmouta:
i've never pulled an engine and i'm far from an engine expert but i'd certainly be willing to lend a hand of i'm free when you do this.

That'd definately be appreaciated. I still don't know the exact date that we are going to do the swap. We're arranging access to a cherry picker, an engine stand, some better jacks, etc. "The sooner the better" is what we both keep saying. Unfortunately, you can't circle that on a calendar.

Speaking of jacks, can anyone tell me how realistic it is to drop the engine from a CSVT without a full lift? Like, in a home garage? Is it possible (or practical) to pull it with a cherry picker rather than dropping the subframe, or whatever?

B
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
B
Originally posted by slashdevnull:
Originally posted by hmouta:
i've never pulled an engine and i'm far from an engine expert but i'd certainly be willing to lend a hand of i'm free when you do this.

That'd definately be appreaciated. I still don't know the exact date that we are going to do the swap. We're arranging access to a cherry picker, an engine stand, some better jacks, etc. "The sooner the better" is what we both keep saying. Unfortunately, you can't circle that on a calendar.