Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: PurpleCat timing, how to - 04/03/06 05:46 PM
ok, ok, i know i am a newbie, but i kinda need this fast. can the timing belt be repaced without any tools?? if so, please tell me how to allign everything. thank you very muce. and if anyone has any questions on the 3.0L or the 2.5L duratec...i'm your man
Posted By: Hydramatic Re: timing, how to - 04/03/06 06:02 PM
Well, you are not going to have fun changing out that belt.

Just thinking about it makes me cringe. It's utter torture on a Pre98.
Posted By: Tony2005 Re: timing, how to - 04/03/06 06:55 PM
Welcome Purplecat .

This thread has some hints from JD28.
http://www.contour.org/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=zetecmaint&Number=1027411&page=&view=&sb=5&o=&fpart=all&vc=1
Posted By: jd2-98s Re: timing, how to - 04/03/06 09:17 PM
Get a Gates Timing Belt kit, which will come with awesome instructions. A Haynes has the correct info too. You do need a locking tool kit, OTC 6486 is the Zetec locking set. Should be able to find it online somewhere for 20-25 bucks. I think you might want to grab a water pump too, because you'll be right there.
Posted By: Hydramatic Re: timing, how to - 04/04/06 05:48 AM
Originally posted by jd28:
Get a Gates Timing Belt kit, which will come with awesome instructions. A Haynes has the correct info too. You do need a locking tool kit, OTC 6486 is the Zetec locking set. Should be able to find it online somewhere for 20-25 bucks. I think you might want to grab a water pump too, because you'll be right there.

Good Idea! If you do get the water pump, get one with metal blades, not the plastic!
Posted By: williamsmithers Re: timing, how to - 04/07/06 11:14 PM
hey guys, i'm about to do this myself on the wife's car, 96 contour gl, and i had a couple of questions
1. does the timming belt tensioner suppose to have a spring on it? (mine doesn't)

2. what size tool do i need to use to loosen the cam sprocket's? (gonna have to buy one)