Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: wa2tuff carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/13/04 10:52 PM
I have to wipe my rolled exhaust tips (Borla) every day to remove the black carbon. My car runs fine-doesn't use oil, no smoking, etc. What's going on? Is it running too rich or lean, etc? Bear with me, I'm no mechanic. I've pulled fuses to reset the computer, but nothing seems to help. What gives?
Posted By: Wien_Sean Re: carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/13/04 11:10 PM
You are running rich. My 95 SE has no cat and has MSDS headers and when I get on the gas around 5k rpm I get black smoke. It seems to run rich at WOT. Are doing a lot of hard driving? You wouldn't see the smoke because you have cats, so you might be clogging up your cats, I would get that checked out.
Posted By: wa2tuff Re: carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/13/04 11:47 PM
I like to go through the gears and usually end up around 65 or 70 routinely. Normal shifting, no racing, usually. I guess I'll have to make an appointment to have it checked out. Could be wrong but I don't think it did this before I got the optimized TB from Buckshot. Could that have anything to do with it?
Posted By: Roz 1999 SVT-C Re: carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/14/04 12:07 AM
That was normal for my car (SVT) but im not sure about the SE. I ahve a 3 liter hybrid swap now and i get the smae thing.

I though all of the duratecs run rich....not just the svt.

Lupe
Posted By: Jason43 Re: carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/14/04 12:25 AM
I think part of it has to do with the way the Borla tips are shaped(rolled out as opposed to straight cut). Seems to happen alot with Borla owners.
Posted By: 99 red SVT Re: carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/14/04 02:37 AM
My Borla tips do the same thing.
Posted By: Wien_Sean Re: carbon on my exhaust tips - 05/14/04 02:50 AM
Originally posted by Roz 1999 SVT-C:

I though all of the duratecs run rich....not just the svt.

This is also true. But if it is running to rich then you can screw up your cats.