Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: Russell-3L gals milage is killing me ! - 12/10/02 11:39 PM
im getting 15 or less mpg. its been like this for a while, and im pretty sure it happened around the time i changed my o2 sensor i got a 97 duratec atx, and the o2 sensor i changes was the one closest to teh cat (not the precats)
Posted By: Russell-3L Re: gals milage is killing me ! - 12/11/02 04:20 PM
anyone ????
Posted By: reFLEX Re: gals milage is killing me ! - 12/11/02 06:08 PM
TTT, I'm getting around 10 mpg!!!
Posted By: Russell-3L Re: gals milage is killing me ! - 12/12/02 01:06 AM
anyone ???????

im a poor student who cant afford to buy this much gas !
Posted By: Rogerm60 Re: gals milage is killing me ! - 12/12/02 01:29 AM
Have you looked at that O2 sensor lately? Maybe the wires melted to the exhaust.

Only other things that cause really bad fuel consumption (if it still runs somewhat normal) are temperature sensors or a really whacked out MAF.

Smell your oil and change it if it smells like gas!!!
Posted By: JaTo_dup1 Re: gals milage is killing me ! - 12/12/02 02:05 AM
Check:

1) Spark Plugs (I change mine every 30-40K)
2) Plug Wires (Arcing plug wires kill mileage)
3) o2 Sensors (Common culprit, though an expensive one)
4) Dirty Air Element (Could be exacerbating the problem)
5) Cold Weather/"Winter Gas" (Lower mileage in general)
6) Clogged Fuel Filter (Doubt it, but a possibility)
7) Driving Habits (self-explanitory)

It could be a combination of any of these. If you've already done the o2 sensors, I'd hit the plugs and plug wires next along with the fuel filter.

Unless you're throwing a CEL, it's going to be hit or miss, so I'd start with the least expensive stuff first.

Best of luck!
Posted By: Russell-3L Re: gals milage is killing me ! - 12/12/02 03:46 AM
Originally posted by JaTo:
Check:

1) Spark Plugs (I change mine every 30-40K)
2) Plug Wires (Arcing plug wires kill mileage)
3) o2 Sensors (Common culprit, though an expensive one)