Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
1996 Ford Contour GL
16V 4 Cylinder Zetec Engine
84,000 miles
Automatic Transmission

I did a lot of driving yesterday, and when I went to start my car, the Battery Light flickered brightly as my engine revved up and slowly faded/ flickered out as the engine wound down.

Since the car appeared to be working fine, I started driving. I noticed that the battery light would flicker on everytime I accelerated and then go off, as I released pressure on the gas.

About 30 minutes down the road, all of my interior and exterior lights began dimming, the radio shut off, and I lost power.

After pulling over and recieving several jumps (the car would almost instantly die when the jumper cables were removed), I had to have it towed back to my apartment.

If anyone could help me out here, I'd be immensely appreciative. I did a search on this problem and found simliar instances, but I had a hard time understanding it all. I'm a broke-ass musician, and only really have a basic knowledge of cars. I'm just trying to get a grasp on whats going on, before I replace an alternator, battery and cabling and still have it not fixed.

From all the other topics I've read, I can tell this is a great forum, and I really look forward to any help anyone's willing to offer.

-ant
First of all get the battery charged and tested. A completely dead battery can keep the alternator from charging. If the battery tests bad after charging, replace it, then test the alternator. You may only need a new battery.

Once the battery is qualified, you need a voltmeter to test the alternator. With the eingine running at about 2000 RPM (that would be gently reved up) and all electrical accessories off, you should have a voltage reading of about 14.5 volts. It may be a bit lower if the battery is not fully charged (a new battery may not be fully charged).

If the alternator isn't working you will have nearly the same voltage as with the engine off (about 12.5 volts).