Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
I did a real bonehead thing and poured a little bit of Mobil 1 ATF in the motor oil hole. I thought that it was Mobil 1 synthetic. The two bottles look so similar, but the red fluid finally gave it away. I only poured about an 1/8 of a quart in. I am planning to have it flushed all out. Will this hurt the engine if I run it?
Nope you will be fine...just drain it out
No-
Actually it has a detergent in it that will clean your motor out very well. I used to work in a shop that serviced Bentley and Ferrari. The shop owner was a master mechanic. He would substitute a quart of oit with ATF and have the customer run it for a week. He would then do an oil change after the week(as long as it did not valve clatter). I thought he was crazy but he assured me it was fine(he had been a mechanic for over 35 years) so I guess he knew what he was talking about. It breaks loose all of the gook. I think that a little will be fine. Equate it to addind some marvel mystery oil in there between each oil change-
M
Originally posted by starjammir:
Nope you will be fine...just drain it out

+1. Just drain it out.
Originally posted by moneypitsvt:
No-
Actually it has a detergent in it that will clean your motor out very well...... I think that a little will be fine. Equate it to addind some marvel mystery oil in there between each oil change-
M

I agree, that little bit is no problem.
Find something else to loose sleep over. It is true that it once was a common thing to add some ATF to clean up an engine. There are better additives for that today, but a small amount will not hurt anything.
Originally posted by moneypitsvt:
I used to work in a shop that serviced Bentley and Ferrari. The shop owner was a master mechanic. He would substitute a quart of oit with ATF and have the customer run it for a week.

Alot of old timers do that.

I usually throw some ATF or MMO in for a week before an oil change.