Contour Enthusiasts Group Archives
Posted By: zetec herman newbie - 11/06/05 08:10 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to CEG. I bought a green contour gl in july. I just registered here a few days ago. The car is a 96. ATX, zetec, 95K. Plane Jane, nod mods YET.
I've been researching contours for a while and have a few questions. The first one is did some 4 bangers have a tach? Mine doesn't I've seen posts with 4 cylinders mentioning tachs. Also, do pre-98's have tilt wheel? When I checked my blue book value, tilt was listed as a standard feature. I don't see a lever on the wheel to adjust it.

I will post pics when I can post on cardomain
Posted By: mystiquevltwin Re: newbie - 11/06/05 08:31 PM
welcome!

as for the tach, im not sure about pre 98 zetecs but post98 did have a few with tach's. do a little searching and IIRC there is ways of swaping guage clusters. the tilt leaver is a black leaver that is at the bottom of the stearing columnb thats tucked flush with the plastic.

hth
Posted By: Big Daddy Kane Re: newbie - 11/06/05 09:12 PM
Yes, some Zetecs had a tach... IIRC all Mystiques have a tach. I think the LX Contour had a tach also (but I can't remember if the V6 was standard on them or not).

And the tilt steering wheel... the 95s had them, then in 96 they dropped it due to some safety thing, then brought it back in 97.

I checked into it b/c I had a non-tilt 96 GL, but a girl I knew had a 95 GL with tilt.

And yes, welcome to CEG.
Posted By: LUCA_dup1 Re: newbie - 11/06/05 11:21 PM
Welcome!
Make sure to stop by the NorthEast forum to say hi.
Enjoy your new ride!
Posted By: rouar Re: newbie - 11/06/05 11:59 PM
All Mystiques had a tach, both Zetec and Duratec.

Pre98 Contour GL Sports had a tach with the Zetec.

Those are the only Zetecs I know of with tachs; never seen one stock in a 98+.

All Duratec-equipped Contours have tachs, such as mine.

Welcome to the boards
Posted By: MazTour Re: newbie - 11/07/05 12:05 AM