Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
I am having a problem removing/tightening the two rear bolts of the front sub frame. I believe I have broken the nut's holding tabs so they just turn in place. I can't loosen or tighten them.

How do you get at the nuts for those bolts?

P.S. I have been driving the car and it feels like something is shifting when I take corners (makes an ugly click noise). I need to get these bolts tightened ASAP.

Also, my car is a 95 SE with MTX. I was trying to drop the subframe to put on new control arms.

************************ '95 Contour SE V6-MTX.
D
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
D
this is a wierd situation. im not a pro but im not sure there is a way to get to the nuts or if you can, which im sure you can, its probably going to be damn hard. have you tried doing a search through the archives or asking a local mechanic?

00 Toreador Red SVT-#1751 of 2150 KKM intake No resonator Eibach springs 2 1/2" drop No door ding guards Side markers
N
New CEG\'er
OP Offline
New CEG\'er
N
Yes, I've done many searches through this site.

All I have come up with is that you have to go underneath the carpet through the vent ( I've checked under the carpet in the passenger footwell and can't find a vent ). I think the vent has to be cut open to get a socket into it or something.

D
CEG\'er
CEG\'er
D
that sounds a little extreme though. i find it kind of hard to have broken the nuts off. they're welded on so maybe somethings stripped somewhere. have you tried putting loc tite on the bolts before you put them in?

00 Toreador Red SVT-#1751 of 2150 KKM intake No resonator Eibach springs 2 1/2" drop No door ding guards Side markers
H
Hard-core CEG'er
Hard-core CEG'er
H
Don't know if this(posted on 08/28/02) is the same info you saw while searching. It applies to rear, but front sub-frame maybe similar.

Originally posted by 2redtours: